Europe By Definition...

Map of Europe

Europe is, by convention, one of the seven continents. Defying the classic definition, it's not surrounded by water in all directions. There's an overland border that Europe shares with Asia. Geographers and politicians have gone back and forth for years over the exact make up of its eastern border.

To the north, Europe is bounded by the Arctic Ocean, to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Black Sea to the southeast. Europe's eastern borders are conventionally marked by the Ural Mountains in Russia, Caspian Sea and Caucasus Mountains.

While geographically located in Asia; Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Cyprus are considered European countries. Mediterranean and North Atlantic islands are usually considered part of Europe. Russia and Turkey are counted in both European and Asian continents. Depending who you ask, the European continent includes as many as 50 countries.